Brasil Day 1

13 Dec

Right now I’m as pouty as it’s possible to be in Rio with a view of the beach. It’s raining like crazy and when I checked the weather “Scattered T” storms are predicted for the rest of the week. Whatever that means. I’m in denial because a week at the beach in the rain would be kinda depressing.

On a brighter note, I get to take my first Jiu Jitsu class in Brazil tomorrow morning. I don’t know how it’s going to be, taking a jiu jitsu class in another language, but I’m sure it’ll be a good experience. At least most directions are visual in Jiu Jitsu so it shouldn’t be too tricky.

Yesterday was an amazing introduction to Rio. I took a long Bike ride along the beach with Claudio. The contrast of the water and the city with the backdrop of mountains is simply breathtaking. I’ve seen a lot of beautiful pics of Rio, but the real thing is different. The sand on the beach is so fine it squeaks and the water goes out forever. A cold Acai drink makes the picture just about perfect. I’m starting to understand why Brazilians are so good at Jiu Jitsu. Between the beach and Acai its impossible not to relax. And all the jiu jitsu royalty met has this laid back attitude. There has to be a connection.

Anyway, more later when the rain stops and my jet lag recedes so I write coherently.

Here’s a map of my itinery courtesy of my techie father: http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?hl=en&om=1&ie=UTF8&msa=0&msid=111565754480209005589.0004793ad89e82f4ee873&z=8

3 Responses to “Brasil Day 1”

  1. Arica December 13, 2009 at 10:18 pm #

    I hope the weather clears up soon. Be sure to take plenty of pics, drink lots of Acai and have fun! You didn’t mention which gym you are going to–Toco’s?

  2. barbara December 14, 2009 at 5:48 am #

    Your word picture about the beach in Brazil was perfect! Well done, Maia!
    now i can’t wait to hear about the jiu jitsu lesson.

  3. alexa December 14, 2009 at 7:15 am #

    yay! i can follow you now literally with the map..muahaha>:D take care, BE SAFE IN ALL ASPECTS OF THE WORD, and find good sushi.

Leave a comment